At any given time Spire has 3 years open that users can post to. They are Last Year, This Year and Next Year. Typically companies work in This Year but that is not a requirement. By working in This Year Spire allows the user to back date and post date transactions 1 year back or 1 year forward.
Once the company has finished all of its transactions for a year, that year can be closed. It is not recommend that “This Year” is closed because comparison reports not as easy. Many companies actually wait until close to the end of ‘Next Year” to close “Last Year”. This gives the easiest access to past years transactions.
Once the end of “Next Year” arrives, users cannot post transactions, until the year end is performed for ‘Last Year’. Closing the year moves all GL transactions to the historical GL tables and moves the year forward. All other tables like sales history, AR, AP etc are not closed but continue on by date. During the year end close the sales and purchase history year to date amounts are updated in customers, vendors and inventory.
To close the year, go to Tools->Year End. The user must have permission to run this
To be able to perform the year end, the user must be logged into the last day of what is defined as “Last Year”. If they use a different date they will see this message.
Once the correct date is entered the user will receive this warning message to make sure everything required before a year end has been done.
The ‘Proceed’ button will be grayed out unless the user checks all warning messages.